ADHQ Views


ADHQ contains several views, each designed to accomplish a specific Active Directory task. Whether you need to modify Active Directory objects in bulk, running reports, or perform security analyses, one of the following views will surely fit your needs:

Home
Browse through Active Directory and run ADHQ tools on selected objects.

Collections
Create dynamically-defined sets of Active Directory objects for easy bulk modification.

Reports
Capture Active Directory data from Users, Groups, Contacts, Computers, Printers, OUs, Shares, and GPOs in your domain.

Security
Find and fix security holes across your network in Active Directory, File & Share, Mailbox, or Printer ACLs.

Scheduled Tasks
Create and manage ADHQ Scheduled Tasks.

Custom Tools
Create ADHQ tools from scratch to perform custom actions, perfectly suited for your environment.

For a complete walkthrough of the features of each view, use the navigation bar at the top of the page or the links in the left sidebar.

File Menu

The File menu is located in the upper left corner of the program. The button may look different if you have another visual style enabled (via the Style menu in the upper right corner).



Opening the file menu will show the following menu items:

Menu Item Description
Open Workspace Choose to switch to a different existing workspace.
Manage Workspaces Create new workspaces, or modify existing ones with the Manage Workspaces Dialog.
Help This submenu contains links to the Help Request form, the About dialog, and a link to this User Manual. Cool, huh?
Check for Updates Manually download updates for ADHQ, or configure the settings for automatic updates.
Register View or modify your registration information.
Options Launches the Options dialog. A thorough description of the tabs in the Options dialog can be found here.
Exit Terminates the current session and closes ADHQ.

Registration Dialog



Use this screen to register your software after receiving a permanent license, or to apply a new license with a different license count. If your current license is soon to expire, you will see a warning like the one shown in the screenshot above.

Help, my registration info won't work

Ensure you have entered your registration information exactly as it appears in the email you received. For non-expiring licenses, the expiration date must be set to all zeroes. Also, make sure you are running the major version of the product that corresponds with the license you have. Version 1.X.X.X licenses are not valid for Version 2.X.X.X. of the product, for example.

If you are still unable to input your new license information, please contact us and we'll help you get the issue resolved.

Check for Updates Dialog



If you have a valid (non-expired) license, you are eligible to receive any minor updates to the software free of charge. You can detect and install the latest updates by clicking the Check for Service Updates button in the ribbon of the Admin Console.

The top of this dialog allows users to manually check for available ADHQ updates. If an update is detected, a new button will appear allowing the user to install the update. The bottom half of the dialog is used to configure automatic updates. The following table has a description of the settings and how they will affect the program:

Setting Description
Download updates automatically Check this box to have ADHQ detect and download available updates in the background. Updates will be installed the next time the program launches.
Note: We recommend keeping this box checked to ensure that you are always running the latest version.
Install updates automatically on startup Choose this option to have ADHQ automatically install any previously downloaded update when the program is launched.
Prompt to install updates on startup Choose this option to have ADHQ prompt the user before installing any updates. This gives the user the opportunity to postpone the update and temporarily continue using an old version of the software.

Workspaces

Manage Workspaces Dialog

ADHQ stores default configurations for each of its tools in Workspaces. Workspaces are managed through the Manage Workspaces option in the File menu. This allows you to set up multiple configurations if you want ADHQ to behave differently in different instances. In the image below, we've set up workspaces for our two office locations:




The Manage Workspaces dialog allows you to create new workspaces or modify previously created ones. Use the toolbar along the top of the dialog to modify the workspace list. A description of each button follows:

Button Description
Add Create a new workspace from the shipping version of each of the tools.
Modify Edit the default settings for tools in the currently selected workspace. This will launch the Workspace Editor dialog.
Delete Remove the currently selected workspace. The Default workspace cannot be deleted.
Rename Renames the currently selected workspace. The Default workspace cannot be renamed.
Copy Make a copy of the currently selected workspace.
Open Make the currently selected workspace the active workspace. The name of the active workspace is displayed in the title bar of the main window of ADHQ.
Import Create ADHQ workspaces from an existing workspace file from a previous version of the software.
Help Links to this file.

Click the Close button to stop modifying workspaces and return back to ADHQ's main window.


Workspace Editor



The Workspace Editor dialog allows you to modify the default settings for each of the tools in a workspace. ADHQ's builtin tools are sorted into the following categories: Add Tools, Modify Tools, Delete Tools, Property Tools, and Import Tools. To modify the default settings for a tool, select the tool from the list and click the Edit button. This will launch the Tool Editor dialog, described below.


Tool Editor



The Tool Editor dialog allows you to modify the default settings for a single tool in a workspace. It consists of three main panes: the Operation Tree in the top left pane, the Properties pane below that, and on the right side, a Preview Pane. For more information about editing a tool using a similar interface, see the corresponding sections of the Custom Tools view.

In the image above, we are modifying the Add User tool in our S. Maryland Division workspace. You can see that we are defaulting the State field to MD for this tool, as we expect that most users created by Administrators in this location will be from the same state. Additionally, we have chosen to default the Department and Company fields to their likely values.

Common settings you may wish to change in workspaces include:

  • Have the Add User tool default the location for the new accounts to your Users directory.
  • Set the User must change password at next logon flag for newly created users.
  • Restrict user logon hours by default.
  • Automatically create home folders and home folder shares for new accounts
  • Add new users to groups
  • Create Exchange mailboxes for new user accounts

When you have finished making your changes to the default values of the tool, click Save to return to the Workspace Editor dialog.